Hanging the final pieces

The final day arrived after working as a team to curate the exhibition space with all that curation takes place, it was the time to decide which position was the best for my pieces that was also complimented by the other pieces in the exhibition.

After deliberation of how to hang the pieces with tutors and other students, I knew that I wanted to hang all 3 pieces in front of each other as was aforementioned but I was unsure if I wanted the heights staggered.

The first attempt was to hang from a microphone stand in the middle of the exhibition space but I wasn’t happy with the height I wanted higher. I want the viewers to look up to the pictures and be able to walk around and through them.

It was suggested that I use a window opening pole and paint it white and suspend it from a back wall.

This required a weight behind the wall to keep the pole in place and hold the pictures. Each piece does not weigh heavy, which proved to be an advantage with the final hanging.

After solving the back of the frame issue I discussed possibilties of how to hang the pieces, I had to decide what was the best method to allow a little movement but I did not want the pieces to swing.

I thought about fishing wire and thin wire but in the end decided to use metal rods going through both the pole and frame. I was lucky enough to to find some aged copper metal rods that had discoloured, yet matched the rust colours in my pictures.

The next dilemma was do I stagger the height of the pictures or not? This was only resolved with seeing both options and asking opinions and the final decision was to be at the same level.

We had positioned the pole near a plug socket to be able to use lights to allow the viewer to see through all 3 peices of work.

Leave a Reply

