Glazing my sculpted head

The head has gone through the firing process and come out in one piece. I looked at the choices of finishes and wanted a colourful glaze. The choice was limited and I chose a green that should come out shiny after a further firing.

If time allows me I still want to use this head as a maquette for creating a fabric version of me. I will have to work extremely fast on the 3 pieces, to give myself enough time to spend on the maquette.


After firing due to the higher temperatures required for glazing the head has ended up with some serious cracks. I could have used bronze oxide and rubbed it in and that wouldn’t have required firing. I like the glossy green glaze but it is essential that if producing a sculpture again I am aware of the risk of repeat firing.

Leave a Reply

