Matisse cut outs 

Private View, Goldie on Matisse: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b041d67n via @bbciplayer

I have previously seen these later editions to Matisse work but have failed to fully appreciate the work. What Goldie emphasises in this documentry is Matisse skill for colour and shape proportion. He enthuses about how the colours compliment each other and are perfectly balanced yet still continuing to attract the attention of the viewer.

Colour balance and composition is a part of my work that I struggle with, I appear to fail in truly understanding this aspect of this work. I am going to concentrate on taking a back step from my work and look at it from a distance and take time to contemplate and ascertain if the composition is right before I move on and alter the work if it is not right.

Leave a Reply

